Solace in the Midst of Chaos


Solace. We all look for it…you know that quiet place where you can go and relax, rest or simply meditate on the good things in life.  So there I was enjoying my “solace” in the most relaxing of ways…okay, maybe not THAT relaxing.  I was on my laptop at Starbucks when HE came along.  Yes, you know the one. The Chimney. That person that I just really wish wouldn’t have polluted my fresh, clean air by smoking cigarette after God forsaken cigarette right next to me. Ugh!

Image

This is when I clearly saw my territorial side kick in.  You know that human side of us all that says, ‘I was here first, move the fire pit over to the other side buddy’. Hmm…some of you may be thinking ‘nope, not me.’  Really? Remember the time you went to a sale and there was only one more of the item you wanted and someone else was about to grab it so you rushed on and got it. Claimed it as yours!  Or the time you drove in circles at that restaurant for a close parking space only to play chicken with the car coming from the other direction because you had your blinker on first.  Oh and don’t even get me started on Black Friday. I’m sure you get my point.

We all do it, claiming things whether it’s air, water, space or people. We mark our territory like a dog peeing on a tree. This man has invaded my space, polluted my air and now my “solace” is gone! So, I did what any non-smoker would do.  I glared at him.  Yes I did. I cursed every cigarette that he pulled out of that fire box, one by lethal one.  Hoping…no…praying for spontaneous combustion to take effect.  If ever I could wish for a supernatural power like Phoenix from X-Men it would be now! I would SO cause the lighter to malfunction without singing one little hair on his pretty little head.

Image

Two hours later which seemed like an eternity of carcinogen-infested smoke inhalation, The Chimney leaves.  I then break out in laughter.  Yes, I had won folks! Victory, oh sweet victory!!!  I outlasted him and now my air is free and clean again. Yes, I could just hear the hallelujah chorus in the background.  I was laughing out loud by myself and smiling continuously for the next 10 minutes, only to find that the joke was on me.  No sooner did The Chimney leave than he was replaced by The Fire Pit and Friend.  Yes, that’s right… two new ones came along.  It was like they were multiplying. I was sincerely convinced that God was clearly displaying His sense of humor today.  Perhaps this is His way of telling me to chill out and love ALL my neighbors as myself EVEN “The Chimneys” of the world or find “solace” elsewhere.

Image

Yes, I get it.  It’s apparently time for me to go home.  Solace…you and I shall meet another day but until then, I will walk away breathing somewhat clean air. The joke’s on me. :)

That’s all for now!

Your Friend Mel

~ by yourfriendmel on November 13, 2012.

14 Responses to “Solace in the Midst of Chaos”

  1. The Jedi mind trick usually works for me!

  2. It’s good to see you writing again Mel. This is a humorous and creative article.

  3. Loved It, specially the “Joke on you” part

  4. Tink, I would just load up on the Chili beans before you go in the next time and just bust and move LOL!!! Silly Wabbit!!!

    • Ha! I just had a visual of that. Definitely wouldn’t be what he would expect or anyone else for that matter. It would be wrong on so many levels. Devious, oh so devious I tell ya. LOL and for the record, I’m ONLY entertaining it in my head that’s all. You’re hilarious, Rick. Chili beans consumption = stay at home and spare the rest of the world. Ahaha!

  5. Absolutely charming….

  6. Your site looks really nice – I’ll come back when I have more time (working). Thanks for following wordimagery! Really appreciate the encouragement.
    ahis grace and peace for your journey,

    Stephen

Leave a Reply

 
