Karma Chameleon:Kabash


Reincarnation: do you believe in it?

Before I even answered this question(scratching my head), I had to think about the definition of reincarnation.  It’s been a while since I’ve even heard people talk about reincarnation. I know that it comes from eastern religions but I wasn’t so sure which ones so I Googled it.

Wikipedia describes it as Reincarnation is the religious or philosophical concept that the soul or spirit, after biological death, begins a new life in a new body that may be human, animal or spiritual depending on the moral quality of the previous life’s actions.

I have for the most part had Judeo-Christian values in my life since I was a child in some way, shape or form which holds the belief that there is only one God. These values also point out that I’m not so perfect(which I agree) thus the need for a savior aka Jesus. Yes, I need and have a savior(call me co-dependent or whatever…I’m okay with that :))The belief that when I die, I would come back as someone or something else(um, do you get to pick?) is in direct opposition to what I hold as a biblical truth. See, in my Bible it says’ that a man is appointed to die once and then there’s judgment’ and reincarnation would put the kabash on the need for a savior. I like the idea that if I’m caught up in a moment of just wanting to slap someone, I can stop and think…WWJD? Okay but really I do love Jesus. Plus, I’m thinking…do I really wanna come back at all? Just sayin’…I’m good with the idea of moving on. I’m gonna have to pass this cup.  I like needing a savior and knowing I can’t do it all, plus for me personally, it’s a lot easier to keep track of God if I only believe there’s one and I do. He has not failed me and having Him in my heart and life has only helped make me a better person.  I’m a work in progress and have many good qualities as well as faults.

It’s for someone…but I’m not that someone.

unsubscribe

Not-so-reincarnated,

Your Friend Mel :)

~ by yourfriendmel on February 8, 2013.

7 Responses to “Karma Chameleon:Kabash”

  1. The whole concept of reincarnation in Hinduism is basically to make sure that the followers understand that the deeds you do in this life, will decide how good/bad your next is. For example, if you had to slap somebody like you said, and if you did it, you just got a few points deducted from your karma and you’ll now be demoted from a billionaire in your next life, to a millionaire :) This is of course only because I assume you have been extremely good the rest of your life and really deserve to be a millionaire LOL!

  2. Thanks for explaining that and making me a millionaire in your hypothetical example, Amba! Yeah, I’m definitely screwed if there’s a point system so I made the right decision. LOL…I’m in much need of grace. ;)

  3. Love the two comics, where did you find them? :) D 34

  4. Reincarnation? Not sure it’s for me neither!
    Why do I feel that we might end up with “Same Story, Different Twist!”, when it comes to reincarnation. But than again I’m not a good friend of the unknown. To be honest I hope I’m done when I’m done :)

Leave a Reply

 
